You are viewing: Dick Hyman’s Century of Jazz Piano – Transcribed!

Add to cart

Dick Hyman’s Century of Jazz Piano – Transcribed!

If you want to share and earn points please login first

This book presents a concise history, or survey of jazz piano. In 13 hands-on lessons and 4 bonus performances, Dick Hyman explores the styles, musical vocabulary, and performers who have defined and shaped this elusive American art form over the last century. Starting with the pre-ragtime music of Louis Moreau Gottschalk and ragtime of Scott Joplin, and ending with the advanced scale types of Nicholas Slonimsky and music of McCoy Tyner, Mr. Hyman discusses and demonstrates the astonishing variety of jazz piano improvisation and the people and techniques that have shaped its evolution. The included video, with all 13 lessons and 4 bonus performances, is filled with closeups of Mr. Hyman’s hands as he plays and discusses these techniques. This fascinating package also features a preface and autobiography of Hyman. From the pre-ragtime genesis of Louis Moreau Gottschalk to the modal post-bop of the great McCoy Tyner, this may be the finest lesson book not only in depth of material but in ease of use … when you combine the publishing genius of Hal Leonard with the artistic brilliance of Dick Hyman then a five star recommendation is easy! – Critical Jazz Audio is accessed online using the unique code inside the book and can be streamed or downloaded. The audio files include PLAYBACK+, a multi-functional audio player that allows you to slow down audio without changing pitch, set loop points, change keys, and pan left or right.

If you want to share and earn points please login first
SKU: 312074 Category:
If you want to share and earn points pleaseloginfirst


Additional information

Weight 19.2 oz
Dimensions 12 × 9 cm
Series Keyboard Instruction
EAN 9781620000000
UPC 884089000000
ISBN 1617740195
Medium Softcover Video Online
Pages 160
  • Song Without Words by Dick Hyman
  • Yancey Special by Andy Razaf
  • At A Georgia Camp Meeting by Dick Hyman
  • Home Sweet Home by Carrie Underwood
  • Body And Soul by Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse
  • Pine Top's Boogie by Norman Gimbel
  • Maple Leaf Rag by Dick Hyman
  • Carolina Shout by Dick Hyman
  • The Pearls by Jelly Roll Morton
  • Elite Syncopations by Dick Hyman
  • Infra-Inter-Ultrapolation by Nicolas Slonimsky
  • Pasquinade by Dick Hyman
  • Theme From Polovtsian Dances by Dick Hyman
  • Heliotrope Bouquet by Dick Hyman
  • Poor Butterfly by Dick Hyman
  • (Back Home Again In) Indiana by Dick Hyman
  • Lullaby Of Birdland by George David Weiss
  • Someone To Watch Over Me by George Gershwin
  • Honky Tonk Train (Honky Tonk Train Blues) by Meade 'Lux' Lewis


There are no reviews yet

Be the first to review “Dick Hyman’s Century of Jazz Piano – Transcribed!”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave the field below empty!